Wednesday, May 22, 2024

11 candidates seek terms on Plymouth Township board

  Plymouth Township voters will have a wide selection of candidates seeking election to the board of trustees with 11 Republican candidates seeking four expiring terms. The field will be reduced to four Republicans in the Aug. 8 primary race and those top three vote getters will face the three Democrats, Robert Miler, Angela Nolan and Michael Westra who have filed for election.Republican incumbents Jennifer Buckley, Audrey Monaghan and John Stewart have filed for reelection and will be challenged in the primary by Mark Clinton, Gregory Bill, Daniel Callahan, Sandra Groth and Paul Schulz. Longtime Trustee Chuck Curmi is challenging incumbent Supervisor Kurt Heise for the top township office. Curmi, 69, has opposed much of the development in the township while Heise, 58, has been a proponent of development in the community. Curmi has been reelected to the township board every four years since his first term beginning in 1992. He is a retired automotive and product development manager and a lifelong township resident.An attorney, Heise served as state representative for the 20th House District from 2011-2016 when he was term limited from seeking reelection. He was elected to the supervisor’s office by write-in votes in 2016. He was reelected in 2020. Incumbent Township Clerk Jerry Vorva, 71, will be challenged on the Republican side of the primary ballot by Andrew Miller. The winner of the primary will face Democrat Nancy Conzelman, a former township clerk, on the November ballot. Current Treasurer Bob Doroshewitz, 62, will also face a Republican challenger in August. Janai Stepp, 54, hopes to be the Republican candidate in November. Doroshewitz, a long-time township trustee, was appointed in 2022 to replace former treasurer Mark Clinton who resigned due to health issues.