Wednesday, May 1, 2024

Canton supervisor’s race to be candidate rematch

Canton Township voters will see a re-match during the Nov. 5 race for township supervisor but will limit a vast field of candidates for trustees during an Aug. 6 primary election.

Incumbent Supervisor Anne Marie Graham Hudak and former Supervisor Pat Williams will again vie for the top job in the township. In the 2020 election, Graham Hudak, a Democrat, defeated then incumbent Williams, a Republican, with about 55 percent of the vote.

Williams, 63, was supervisor from 2008 until 2020 and served as a trustee from 2008 until 2016. He is currently working in real estate.

Graham-Hudak, 62, served on the board of trustees from 2016 until 2020 when she challenged Williams for the job. 

No challengers have emerged against incumbent Clerk Michael Siegrist or Treasurer Dian Slavens, both Democrats while 11 candidates have filing election petitions for the four seats on the November ballot. Current Trustee  Steven Sneideman, who has served on the board for 12 years, has opted not to seek reelection. Trustees Kate Borninski, 

Sommer Foster and Tania Ganguly all Democrats are seeking reelection. They are being challenged by Ammara Ansari, Dave Harris and Syed Jafry, also Democrats.  John Anthony, Tyler Grable, Jeff Graunke, Marko Kozina and Leander Richmond, all Republicans, are also seeking terms on the board of trustees.

During the Aug. 6 primary election, voters will limit the November ballot to the four top vote getters from each party.