Thursday, August 13, 2020

2 are reappointed to Westland Planning Commission

Ken Sharp                   David Rappaport 
Two long-time residents have been re-appointed to the Westland Planning Commission by Mayor William R. Wild.
Ken Sharp was confirmed by members of the city council to a 3-year term expiring Aug. 20, 2023. 
Sharp has served on the planning commission for nearly 25 years and is currently chairman of the group. He is a retired Westland firefighter and he and his wife, Carol, are been long time residents of Westland.
Sharp is also active with the local Lions Club.
David Rappaport was also confirmed to a 3-year term on the planning commission expiring Aug. 5, 2023. 

Rappaport is a small business and contractor attorney.  He has served
on the planning commission since 2013. 
Rappaport is the commission liaison to the Zoning Board of Appeals. He has been a Westland resident for many years and enjoys participating in volunteer work programs. 
The Planning Commission is governed by a nine member board appointed by the mayor and subject to confirmation of city council.  Members serve three-year terms.  Members must reside, work or have ownership interest in property in the City of Westland. The Planning Commission reviews and recommends to city council all applications for amendments to the zoning ordinance or zoning map, applications for special land uses, site plan approval and planned unit developments.
Meetings are scheduled for 7 p.m. the first Tuesday of the Month at Westland City Hall, 36300 Warren Road.