Thursday, February 18, 2021

Trustees OK payment for off-site equipment

Julie Brown, Special Writer

Canton Township employees will get a one-time $125 payment for technology needed in order to work remotely. Following a Feb. 9 unanimous vote by members of the board of trustees, all full-time and continuing part-time staffers are eligible.

“Some people have bought monitors. We don't want to get 200 monitors back,” said Wendy Trumbull, finance and budget director. Other employees have purchased headsets in order to get their work done, she said.

Treasurer Dian Slavens, citing one staffer who needed a new chair, said, “I think it's a great idea.” The total cost adds up to some $50,000 with overall budget adjustments likely not needed, said Trumbull.

In other business, trustees debated on the Canton Cares Advisory Committee before voting unanimously to reappoint four members.

“I believe they were given guidance by the previous supervisor,” said Supervisor Anne Marie Graham-Hudak. “I really believe that.”

Supporting material that night for the Canton Cares Advisory Committee cites the help the committee provides for tax-deductible status for donations. Trustee Steven Sneideman explained the complementary role of the Canton Community Foundation and recommended the director speak to specifics as well.

Clerk Michael Siegrist noted nonprofit organizations must follow their bylaws, and can face financial penalties if they don't. He also asked about the terms of Canton Cares members having expired some time ago.

“I want to echo Clerk Siegrist's concern about the terms expiring,” said Trustee Sommer Foster. The issue arose with the question of the members staying on and continuing to serve.

“I think these appointments are fine,” said Graham-Hudak. 

Laura Mortier and Tammy Brown will serve through Nov. 17, 2022, and Tammy Haggerty and Kristina Wilson through Nov. 17, 2023. Trustee Tania Ganguly said of that body, “In the future, I would like to see more transparency.”

Graham-Hudak added, “They are all very well-meaning,” and the collective board outlined several Canton Cares projects.

Also on Feb. 9, four people were appointed to the Commission for Culture, Arts & Heritage: Husain Haidri, Neha Rao, Jason Davis, and Cornelius vanSpronsen.

Their terms expire on Dec. 31, 2024. Tania Ganguly will be the organization representative with the township board of trustees.

“We did have to narrow it down. As usual, we have some great talent,” said Sneideman.

Foster urged residents not selected to apply for other positions with township boards and commissions.