Thursday, February 4, 2021

Westland council approves reappointments to city boards

Gayle Nicholson
 Delano Hornbuckle
Members of the Westland City Council confirmed the reappointment of two city board members during a Jan. 19 meeting.

Westland Mayor William R. Wild reappointed long-time city resident Gayle Nicholson to the Library Board. 

Her appointment was for a five-year term expiring Feb. 6, 2026. Nicholson is an active community volunteer with an extensive background in customer service and marketing. 

The five-member Library Board is appointed by the mayor and confirmed by city council. The board oversees the library director and the operations of the William P. Faust Public Library. 

Meetings take place at 7 p.m. the second Wednesday of each month in the Library Community Meeting Room, located at 6123 Central City Parkway

Wild also reappointed Delano Hornbuckle to the city Planning Commission. Hornbuckle has served on the city Parks and Recreation Advisory Board since November 2019 and the Municipal Service Bureau (MSB) since January 2019. He is a Network Security Engineer and works in a customer focused, multi-site environment. 

The Planning Commission is governed by a nine-member board appointed by the mayor and subject to confirmation of city council. Members serve three-year terms and must reside, work or have ownership interest in property in the City of Westland. 

The Planning Commission reviews and recommends to city council all applications for amendments to the Zoning Ordinance or zoning map, applications for special land uses, site plan approvals and planned unit developments. Meetings are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. the first Tuesday of the month at City Hall, 36300 Warren Road.