Thursday, May 5, 2022

Top of the charts

The Plymouth Canton student radio station, 88.1 the Park, has been named the 2022 Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation High School Station of the Year. This is the fifth consecutive year the station has been honored with the award. The student-operated station received 12 individual awards in nine categories. The student award winners were: Current Events Story second place - Daniel Schoenherr, honorable mention - Ben Vertin; Daily Newscast/News Feature first place - Daniel Schoenherr, Caroline Rummel and Andy McLaren, second place - Mady Bajorek and Ben Vertin; On-Air Personality or Team honorable mention - Anuya Shetty and Avneet Pandher; Promotional Announcement first place Daniel Schoenherr and Lily Mahnken, honorable mention - Emma Johnston; Sports Announcing Team second place Ben Vertin and Andy McLaren; Talk Show honorable mention - Daniel Schoenherr; Multimedia Presentation first place - Emma Johnston, Evie Cadotte and Mady Bajorek; Sports Public Service Announcement first place - Ben Vertin and second place - Daniel Schoenherr, Ariel Ooms and Lilly Betts.