Thursday, November 2, 2023

Inkster voters to choose mayor, council members on Tuesday

Inkster voters will go to the polls next Tuesday, Nov. 7, to choose a mayor and members of the city council in three city districts.

Current Mayor Patrick Wimberly, 49, has been indicted by federal authorities and is accused of demanding cash from a developer hoping to purchase city-owned property. Wimberly was elected to the mayor position which pays $105,000 annually in 2019.

He has pleaded not guilty to the charges.

Former Mayor Byron H. Nolen is seeking to return to the office which he left in 2019. An attorney for 27 years, he cites the city budget $3.3 million surplus when he left office and the relief from state receivership in 2019. Nolen was first elected in 2015 with 87 percent of the vote.

Inkster voters will choose a city council representative for District 1. Candidates are Felicia Rutledge and Timothy Williams. Rutledge has worked in government for more than 16 years. She is a Victim Advocate for the Washtenaw County Prosecutor's Office Victim Service Unit.

Williams served as Mayor Pro Tem on the Inkster City Council and is a former state legislator. 

Candidates in District 4 are Steven Chisholm, the incumbent, and Rebecca J. Daniels. Chisholm has served on the city council for 7 years and is hoping to serve another term. Daniels is a real estate broker and has served as the precinct 4 delegate.

In District 6, incumbent Dennard Olando Shaw is opposed by Cee Coleman-Richardson. 

Shaw has been serving as the district representative while Coleman-Richardson is a long-time city activist. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.