Thursday, November 12, 2020

Voters favor incumbents in township vote

In Plymouth Township balloting Nov. 3, voters returned incumbent Kurt Heise to the office of supervisor.

Heise, completing his first term as supervisor after winning a grassroots write-in campaign four years ago, received a total of 10,911 votes or 58.26 percent of the total cast. Of those, 7,207 were by absentee ballot for the republican candidate. His opponent, Democrat Mary Starr received 7,809 votes, and 6,429 of her votes were cast by absentee ballot. She received 41.68 percent of the vote totals.

Former Township Clerk Nancy Conzelman, a democrat, was defeated by incumbent Jerry Vorva, a Republican. Conzelman received 7,687 votes in her bid to return to the office Vorva captured from her four years ago.

This election, Vorva received 10,841 votes, returning him to the clerk's office for a second term. 

Plymouth Township Treasurer Mark Clinton, a Republican, was unopposed for his seat.

Incumbent trustees Bob Doroshewitz and Charles J. Curmi, both Republicans, were re-elected by voters. Doroshewitz was the top vote getter with 10,020 votes followed closely by Curmi with 9,897. Newcomer Audrey Monaghan, a Republican, received a total of 9,610 votes to secure a position on the board of trustees. John Stewart, a former state representative, running in this election as a Republican, received 9,340 votes, winning a term on the board. Incumbent trustees Gary Heitman and Jack Dempsey did not seek reelection to the board.

Democrats Marisa Downs received 8,270 votes, Christal Vazquez Corliss received 7,753 votes and Nabeleh Raji Ghareeb received 7,440 votes. Joseph H. LeBlanc received 2,005 votes.