Thursday, November 12, 2020

Write-in incumbents defeated by township voters

Mark J. Abbo, a Republican, was elected to serve as the supervisor of Northville Township with 80.99 percent of the votes cast last week defeating incumbent Robert Nix who sought to return to the office as a write-in.

Abbo garnered a total of 11,285 votes while Nix write in total 2,649 or 19.01 percent of the votes cast.

Abbo previously served as township supervisor from 2000 until 2012 and served as a township trustee for eight years prior to that time.

Roger Lundberg, a Republican, received 11,542 votes to secure the office of Northville Township clerk defeating incumbent Margie Banner who sought the office as a write-in candidate. She received 1,783 votes or 13.38 percent of the total votes cast.

Also seeking to return to office as a write-in candidate was incumbent treasurer Fred Shadko. He received 1,225 votes as opposed to the 11,706 or 90.53 percent of the votes garnered by candidate Jason Rhines. Both are Republicans. 

Elected to the township board of trustees were top vote getter Republican Mindy Hermann who received 10,990 votes. She will be joined on the board by Cynthia L. Jankowski who received 10,755 votes; Scott Frush who won 10,300 votes and Chris Roosen who received 9,945 votes.  All are Republicans.

Democratic candidates M. Aslam and Tanya Eileen Juarez Lundberg received 8,655 and 9.301 votes respectively.