Thursday, May 21, 2020

Local students are each awarded $2,500 National Merit scholarships

National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has named the students who have been awarded $2500 scholarship winners. The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were
chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.
National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state percentage of the national graduating high school seniors.

These scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.
Winners this year included Drew W. LaBelle of Plymouth. His probable career field is neuroscience and he is a student at Canton High School;  George Fane of Northville. His probable career field is finance, He is a student at Northville High School;   Sreya Challa of Northville whose probable career field is business administration. She is a student at Northville High School,
Neha Narayan of Canton who hopes to pursue a career in the medical research field also was awarded a $2,500 scholarship.
She is a student at Salem High School in Canton as was Aditya V. Suryakumar of Canton who hopes to pursue a career in medicine. She is a student at Plymouth High School.