Thursday, November 10, 2022

Voters select school board, OK sinking millage

In addition to deciding on a sinking fund millage to help finance repairs and equipment in school buildings, voters in the Wayne-Westland Community Schools district selected two members of the board of education from a field of five candidates.

Voters chose incumbent David Cox and LeWanna Abney-Mitchell to fill the terms.

Cox, the current president of the school board, received a total of 9,413 votes or 27 percent of the total votes reported. Cox is employed as a tax appeal consultant and has been involved in city and school government for more than two decades.

Abney-Mitchell was a first-time candidate who currently serves on the City of Inkster parks commission. She received a total of 7304 votes or 21 percent of the total. She has worked for Starfish Family Services and has organized Getting Ahead and Bridges out of Poverty in local schools.

Bradley Gray was also first-time candidate. He received a total of 6,652 votes or 20 percent of the total. Denise Collop, another first-time candidate, received 6,493 votes or 19 percent of the total while candidate Ryleigh Strong garnered 4,473 votes according to totals reported to the office of elections. 

Voters also approved a sinking fund millage question on Tuesday by 15,574 votes, or 57 percent of the total. Voters cast 11,938 no votes, or 43 percent of the total votes cast. The 1-mill tax request will replace the current sinking fund levy which will expire next year. The new millage will become effective in 2014 and continue for a term of 10 years. Sinking funds, by law, can only be used to support school safety improvements, technology improvements and repair and construction of school buildings and facilities.  New language in the state rules for use of a sinking fund millage now allows districts to use funds for security upgrades and technology upgrades or improvements.