Thursday, November 3, 2022

Voters to choose Wayne City Council members

Voters in Wayne will choose three city council members from five candidates each seeking a two year term during voting next week.

Seats will be filled in wards four, five and six in the city. The city will disband the ward system in 2024 so all council members will be voted on by all electors in the city. In that election, all six council seats and the position of mayor will be on the ballot.

Next Tuesday, Matthew Mulholland, the former personnel director in the city, and incumbent Phillip Wagner will vie for the seat in Ward Six. Wagner has served on the council since 2018.

In Ward Five, two first-time candidates are seeking election. Eric Cleereman, who works in project management and service on the city parks and trails committee and Rabih Darwiche, who manages a gym and is the director of operations and peer recovery coach for the Safe Substance Abuse Coalition hope to gain voters' favor.

In Ward Four, Deborah Wass, who was appointed to the seat last year, is the only candidate seeking the term. She has previously served on the city planning commission and board of review.