Thursday, November 21, 2019

Westland re-appoints Spisak to 3-year term on city planning commission

Andrew Spisak
Andrew Spisak has been reappointed to the Westland Planning Commission for a three-year term, expiring Nov. 5, 2022.
Spisak' reappointment was confirmed by members of the Westland City Council at the regular meeting of the council Nov. 5

Spisak has lived in Westland since 1967 and has served on the Planning Commission since January of 2000.  Spisak retired from the Westland Police Department in 1986 after 20 years of public service. He also served as deputy mayor under Mayor Thomas Taylor.
The Planning Commission is governed by a nine-member board appointed by the mayor and subject to confirmation of city council members. Commissioners serve three-year terms and all members must reside, work or have ownership interest in property in Westland. The planning commission reviews and recommends to the city council all applications for amendments to the zoning ordinance or zoning map, applications for special land uses, site plan approvals and planned unit developments. Meetings are scheduled for the first Tuesday of the Month at 7 p.m., at  Westland City Hall, 36300 Warren Road.
“It is my honor to reappoint longtime public servant, Andrew Spisak, to the planning commission,” commented Mayor William R. Wild.  “Spisak proudly served and protected our community for several years, and now he continues to be a valuable asset, providing a unique perspective to the city as a planning commissioner.