Thursday, July 23, 2020

Romulus mayor named to policy task force

Mayor LeRoy Burcroff
Romulus Mayor LeRoy Burcroff has been appointed to the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) Legislative Policy Platform Task Force.
The Legislative Policy Platform Task Force will create the SEMCOG 2021-2022 Legislative Policy Platform, outlining the principle policy issues affecting local governments and schools in Southeast Michigan. Prior to each new session of Congress and the Michigan Legislature, SEMCOG forms a task force to guide the development of a new policy platform. The task force will recommend the platform to the executive committee for approval in December.

“It is a privilege to be selected to serve on alongside local leaders and policymakers in support of the issues-like municipal financing and funding solutions for roads and infrastructure-that have the power to make a difference in our home communities,” Burcroff said. “I am committed to continuing to work with neighboring communities in Southeast Michigan to ensure the City of Romulus and the entire region is positioned to thrive in the coming years.”
Jason Morgan, chair of the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners, has been named chair of the Legislative Policy Platform Task Force and Theresa Rich, trustee of Oakland Schools, will serve as vice chair. Additional appointees of the 27-member task force include elected officials from communities in Southeast Michigan, including Detroit, Livonia, Ferndale and Southfield, among others.