Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Schools of Choice enrollment now open in Plymouth-Canton

Members of the Plymouth-Canton Community Schools Board of Education recently approved new deadlines for Schools of Choice applications.
The Schools of Choice program allows students from outside the school district to attend Plymouth Canton schools. The new resolution will allow a maximum enrollment of 200 students in kindergarten through 10th grade for the 2020-21 school year, according to a prepared statement from the district.

For the fourth consecutive year, the district will enroll students through the school of choice provisions in Section 105 and 105c, which means that families from Wayne County and all surrounding counties (Washtenaw, Macomb, Oakland, Monroe) are welcome to apply. This is the second application round for the district this year, following the application process that took place in March and April.
The online School of Choice application window will be open from Thursday, June 18 to Friday, July 17 and can be found at beginning at midnight, June 18. All applications will be considered after the July 17 deadline; the application window closes at 11:59 p.m. EST on that day. The actual number of School of Choice students enrolled into the Plymouth Canton community Schools from outside the district will depend on availability.
Applicants who are siblings of current Plymouth Canton School of Choice students will be given sibling preference according to state law, as long as the applicant is a student entering kindergarten through 10th grade for the 2020-21 school year. As in all previous School of Choice programs, this addition will not displace any current resident Plymouth Canton students, according to the statement from the school district.
More details and important dates regarding the application process for both the intra-district process and the limited School of Choice program for non-resident families will be available in the near future at the official Plymouth-Canton Schools website found at, as well as all of the district social media outlets.