Thursday, June 9, 2022

New district boundaries may confuse voters

Area voters will find themselves voting in different districts  with the shift in state House and Senate boundaries.

Voters in the same city may see different candidates on the November ballot for state offices, depending on their location in the changing districts. While Wayne and Westland were in the same district for decades, that has now changed and the two cities have been reassigned into separate congressional districts. Westland has been divided into both the 25th and 26th district.

That 25th District also includes the City of Wayne along with a portion of Canton Township. 

Incumbent Democrat Kevin Coleman has filed for reelection to the 25th State House of Representatives District. He is being challenged by first-time candidate Scott Barlow of Westland for the seat.

The remaining portion of the City of Westland, along with a part of Inkster, Garden City and Romulus now falls into District 26. Democrat Steven Chisholm of Inkster, Stephen Patterson, also of Inkster, Dylan Wegela of Garden City and Allen Wilson of Romulus all filed for election last week seeking the term in the newly drawn 26th District. They will be on the Aug. 2 primary ballot.

State Senate District 4 includes the City of Wayne, Romulus, Southgate, Belleville, Flat Rock and Trenton. Incumbent State Sen. Darrin Camilleri of Trenton has filed for the seat along with three Republicans, James Chapman of Belleville, Michael Frazier of Romulus and Beth Socia of Flat Rock. The three will face a primary election in August to determine which of them will face Camilleri.

The August primary ballot will also determine the Democratic candidate for State Senate District 5 which includes Livonia, Canton Township, Inkster and Garden City. Incumbent Sen Dayna Polehanki of Livonia is being challenged by fellow Democrat Velman Jean Overman on the primary ballot. Voters will choose from Republican candidates Emily Bauman of Westland, Jody Rice-White of Livonia and Leonard Scott, Jr. of Canton on the August ballot. 

In Congress, Incumbent Rashida Tlaib of Detroit will face fellow Democrats Kelly Garrett of Lathrup Village and Janice Winfrey of Detroit for the District 12 congressional seat. Republicans on the primary ballot for the term in Washington include newcomers Steven Elliott of Rochester Hills, James Hooper of Livonia and Hassan Nehme of Dearborn Heights.

The City of Wayne falls into Congressional District 13 where multiple democratic candidates have filed for the national office. Seeking to move to the November ballot will be Detroit residents John Conyers III, State Sen. Adam Hollier, Portia Roberson, Lorrie Rutledge, Sherry Gay-Dagnogo, Michael Griffe, Angela McIntosh, Sharon McPhail and Rep. Shri Thaedar.

Only one Republican, Martell Bivings, also of Detroit, filed nominating petitions seeking the office.