Thursday, July 15, 2021

Museum exhibit traces history of Canton farms

Ever wonder “Whose Farm Do You Live On?”

The history of Canton Township, dating back to the 1800s, shows that land many now call home was once farmland for crops and cattle. Local residents can discover the history of the land on which their home sits at a new exhibit which will continue through the month of September.

The exhibit details the history of the thriving farming community from the 1800s and well into the 1900s before the transformation by land developers began during the 1930s.  Visitors can discover who originally purchased the land and the names of families who lived there. Historic maps of the township are on display to show what current property looked like during various eras along with tools used by these families for farming, personal care, cooking, play, and education. 

The exhibit, at the Canton Historical Museum, is open from 1until 4 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays and from 11 a.m. until 3 p.m. on Saturdays.

The Canton Historical Museum is located at 1022 S. Canton Center Road on the corner of Canton Center Road and Heritage Park Drive.  Still in the original location, the Canton Historical Museum was previously used as a one-room schoolhouse.  Formerly known as the Canton Center School, this historical site started out in 1840 as a log cabin schoolhouse but burned down in 1883 and was rebuilt with bricks the following year.  

Admission to the Canton Historical Museum is by donation. For additional information, visit or call (734) 397-0088 for group tour details.